nerd radio

Tune in live Thursday from 9pm est

Fireproof by Gerard Brennan

August 24th, 2012 by Jay Comments

Fireproof, by Gerard Brennan, published by Blasted Heath


Hell hath no fury for Mike Rocks. He’s fireproof; an anomaly caused by a slip-up in afterlife bureaucracy.

Lucifer bundles him off as an embarrassing problem with a mission to introduce Satanism to Northern Ireland.

And while he’s at it, Mike can exact revenge on the men who took his life.

FIREPROOF is equal parts crime fiction, dark urban fantasy and black comedy. For fans of Colin Bateman, Charlie Huston and Duane Swierczynski.

“scintillating, hilarious, surreal … a total blast” Ken Bruen, author of HEADSTONE


“I always claimed to love Belfast, and most of the time, I did. But relationships can be tumultuous and in the end I parted ways with the wee city. FIREPROOF is our illegitimate lovechild. The weird one dressed in black, experimenting with eyeliner and Ouija boards. While I had fun in the writing of this outlandish and irreverent take on religion, morality and revenge, there’s a jag or two in the humour. Expect violence, vengeance and offbeat philosophy. FIREPROOF is a snapshot of the end ofmy affair with Belfast. Now I’m settled down in a nice seaside town you wouldn’t be afraid to introduce to your mother, but I’ll always remember those wild Belfast nights with a wicked grin on my face.”


Gerard is a husband, father, writer, ex-kung fu instructor and karaoke hog.

Premature greyness has seriously messed with his goatee in the last few years and most people think he’s way older than he really is (he’s in his early thirties if you must know). It’s a hard-knock life, mate.

He used to be the last guy to leave the party/pub/park bench but now he’s a respectable family man with just a wee bit of an alcohol dependency.

His ancestors were highwaymen and (more recently) bank robbers but he doesn’t have the stomach to go with his criminal mind…

It’s much safer writing crime fiction.


For more information about Fireproof, purchase details, and Gerard’s other work available from Blasted Heath, please click here

Let us know your thoughts below, @NerdFollowing on Twitter or on Facebook

Jay says that he is a writer, martial artist, sketcher, and dreamer but mostly just a husband and father. Since getting married to the wonderful and patient woman of his dreams, and becoming a father (of two young boys), he has fallen into the category of 'lapsed nerd' as he is a former RPer, Live Role-Player, and comic book junkie. Science fiction and fantasy books are the staple of his shelves - both in terms of books and movies ... however, he's never seen Star Wars (any of them) but please don't hold that against him! He is currently trying to find a medical cure for the thing called sleep, as it is interferring with the thing he calls life. If you want to know more about him go to

Proudly Powered By WordPress