nerd radio

Tune in live Thursday from 9pm est

Image’s Ice Cream Man is getting a TV series…

October 17th, 2018 by Marc Comments

It looks like yet another comic book property is set for the small screen treatment as Universal Cable Prods sets its sights on Image Comics’ Ice Cream man.

The network already has Image’s Happy! and are looking to add to that the relatively new book which focuses on an Ice Cream man who, in the tradition of The Twilight Zone or Creepshow, brings individual scary tales to the audience each episode.

The stories focus on suburban America and the psyche behind the picket fence reality of Americana.

Max and Adam Reid (Sneaky Pete) will write the adaptation based on the Image Comics series created by W. Maxwell Prince.

“The Ice Cream Man frames the stories for viewers with darkly wry observations about human nature and the cruel ironies of fate. That narrator structure and the twist-ending tone put Ice Cream Man in the tradition of classic television franchises such as The Twilight Zone, Night Gallery and Tales From the Crypt, the latter also an import from the comics world.”

We get the feeling this will be a comic book series few will realise is based on a comic.

Thoughts?

Source: Deadline

Let us know your thoughts below, @NerdFollowing on Twitter or on Facebook

Marc is a self-confessed nerd. Ever since seeing Star Wars for the first time around 1979 he’s been an unapologetic fan of the Wars and still believes, with Clone Wars and now Underworld, we are yet to see the best Star Wars. He’s a dad of two who now doesn’t have the time (or money) to collect the amount of toys, comics, movies and books he once did, much to the relief of his long-suffering wife. In the real world he’s a graphic designer. He started Following the Nerd because he was tired of searching a million sites every day for all the best news that he loves and decided to create one place where you can go to get the whole lot. Secretly he longs to be sitting in the cockpit of his YT-1300 Corellian Transport ship with his co-pilot Chewie, roaming the universe, waiting for his next big adventure, but feels just at home watching cartoons with his kids….